Quick Links

Useful Links

St Joseph's Catholic Primary School


Our school governors are all people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education. We are responsible for overseeing the strategic direction and management of the school.

We do not get involved in the day to day running of the school or its management.  Our role is entirely strategic.

We keep our school vision statement at the heart of all that we do, including agreeing the school’s policies and our School Improvement Plan.

We have 3 key functions:

Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.
Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils. 

Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.

We ask challenging questions of the Head Teacher about pupil progress and achievement, teaching and learning, safeguarding, behaviour and health and safety.

We are also tasked with upholding the Catholic Ethos of the school, maintaining and developing the faith life of the children.

Our school governors are: 

Janet Nelms  Chair of GB

Carmel Zammit Co-Vice Chair GB, Chair Resources Committee

Joan McConnell Co-Vice Chair GB, Chair Curriculum and Community Committee

Rebecca England Acting Headteacher

Julian Freeston Chair Audit Committee, Parent Governor

Claire Finn Parent Governor

Deborah Read Staff Governor

Elias Sahyoun Foundation Governor

Garry Cullen Foundation Governor

John Denby Safeguarding Link Governor

Peter Murphy Foundation Governor


Chair of Governors: Janet Nelms c/o: admin@st-josephs.bromley.sch.uk
Address: c/o:  St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Plaistow Lane, Bromley, BR1 3JQ